Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trolling crankbaits with gas motor question.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Trolling crankbaits with gas motor question.

This is my first year trolling crankbaits so I'm still learning. My question is as to whether or not trolling with your gas motor will spook the fish. Today I used my trolling motor until it was too weak then I switched to my gas motor. After the switch I hardly got any bites. I was trying to work the channel but kept drifting onto the flats (windy day) which are only 14' deep. I was pulling a Bandit 300 series (I also was pulling 100 and 200 series) with 50' of line out which should take it down to around 11.5' so I can't really afford to put out anymore line. I was considering getting another battery for backup. (I'm using a 12v motor) Any thoughts?

While I'm at it, another question. I really wanted to work the channel but since it was a windy day I ended up on the flats a lot. I trolled from one end of the lake to the other. (small lake, around 1500 acres) Should I focus on one area trolling in some type of pattern to cover all of it or should I just continue to work the whole lake?

2010 NWR Bash Crappie Division Champion

Post Thanks / Like

I think the question about the gas motor spooking fish is a good one. I have been looking into buying planer boards as a possible solution. I may invest in another trolling battery as another possible solution.
    I have not started trolling cranks yet this year but plan to resume trolling soon.
    So far, I have had my best luck trolling creek channels.

Post Thanks / Like

Smile Cranks