Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Dead minnows

Post Thanks / Like

Question Dead minnows

Folks, I got a question for 'yall. Need some opinions. Im headed to the lake when I get off tonight bout midnite, so on the way to work I stopped and got me 100 minnows. Well, just went to check on them and half are already dead . I know the rest will be when i get outta here. Im new to nightfishing, and I dont ever hardlly fool with minnows. My question is, will the crappie hit a dead minnow, or will I be wasting my time. I have plenty of jigs, so I could just fish docklights, but I really wanted to try out my new lights. Thanks for any info.

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by jh_blount
    Folks, I got a question for 'yall. Need some opinions. Im headed to the lake when I get off tonight bout midnite, so on the way to work I stopped and got me 100 minnows. Well, just went to check on them and half are already dead . I know the rest will be when i get outta here. Im new to nightfishing, and I dont ever hardlly fool with minnows. My question is, will the crappie hit a dead minnow, or will I be wasting my time. I have plenty of jigs, so I could just fish docklights, but I really wanted to try out my new lights. Thanks for any info.
    You got to keep them cool. I use liter bottles full of frozen water. Just put the whole bottle in. It works great.
    Fair Winds and Following Seas

Bill H. PTC USN Ret
    Chesapeake, Va

Post Thanks / Like

thats what i do also it works fine. you may want to take some out to the lake with u this time of year

anchorpuller is offline Crappie.com 2K Star General * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Temperature is one thing. IBN gave a good suggestion about the frozen bottles of water to cool em down.