Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: question for RANGO

Post Thanks / Like

Default question for RANGO

and fellows that nite stalk-------------------------- was wondering about what kinds of minnows that are attracted to lights at night.

last nite i set up my lights and waited for minnows to appear. Saw some dark shadows darting around, so i started watching the water closely. Thought they might be small stripers or small crappie chasing minnows. Actually they were three finger wide shad. Minnows were few and TINY. I did not see what could be called "minnows". Water clarity was not good, so visibility was no more that 3ft. Could minnows have been below the shad?

Is there a special time of the spring when the shad and minnow fry are large enough and plentiful enough to be a factor around the lights? I didn't feel I was attracting what the crappie needed in the food catagory. Since I'm new at this nite game, I would appreciate any and all in-put. Thanks.

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Lightbulb "Minnows" ......

Quote Originally Posted by willsjwills
    and fellows that nite stalk-------------------------- was wondering about what kinds of minnows that are attracted to lights at night.

last nite i set up my lights and waited for minnows to appear. Saw some dark shadows darting around, so i started watching the water closely. Thought they might be small stripers or small crappie chasing minnows. Actually they were three finger wide shad. Minnows were few and TINY. I did not see what could be called "minnows". Water clarity was not good, so visibility was no more that 3ft. Could minnows have been below the shad?