Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Running trotlines????

Post Thanks / Like

Default Running trotlines????

How do you keep your hooks from getting tangled up when storing trotlines.

Post Thanks / Like

I'm no expert on it, but if you can get a commercial fisherman to show
    ya how to build "jumper boxes", then you will be set.
    I have a couple I built years ago after looking at some - you can put
    a 100 hook line in each one, already baited, then stack them on top of
    each other. Put them out at fast idle too, but watch them hooks
    Shoals Area Crappie Association

Post Thanks / Like

Take the hooks off and stick them in something like a piece of styrofoam and then just roll up the main line.

Post Thanks / Like

First, buy a roll of aluminum foil. Then, cut strips slightly wider than the hook about 6" long. Then, simply wrap them around the hooks to the main line and roll them onto your trotline reel. They will hold the hooks to the line and prevent them from becoming tangled. I have had good success with this method, but you may or may not be able to reuse the strips.

I have also seen folks use snap swivels and simply remove the hooks until the trotline is actually placed in the water. Me, I prefer the tinfoil.

Post Thanks / Like

Default jump box

jump box, definitely. take four pieces of cypress 1 x 4 and a square piece of plywood and make a box with a plywood bottom. then take a handsaw and make small notches around the edge for the hooks to wedge in.
    rushcreekoutdoor

Post Thanks / Like

This takes some time, but will last for years:

Get some electrical tape, and some 1/4 in clear soft plastic tubing (like you might use installing an ice maker).

Cut the tubing into pieces approx 1.5 in long.