Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginner Crappie Fisherman

stubbychester Guest

Default Beginner Crappie Fisherman

Our friend has a 3 acre pond that I fish, I am a beginner fisherman and have caught crappie out of this pond last year. When is it a good time to begin fishing this year. I know any time is a good time, but I would like to catch some crappie. Should I worry about water temperature? I usually fish from shore but do have access to a rowboat. Any tips and advise would really be apreciated. The pond is located in southeastern Kentucky. When do crappie spawn? Thanks

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Lightbulb Chester ....

I hope your friend wants you to succeed in taking quite a few Crappie out of that pond. That's a pretty small body of water to have Crappie in. Most DNR guys will tell you that a "pond" of less than 50 acres is probably not big enough to support a population of Crappie, successfully, unless they are preyed upon heavily by another species. They spawn large numbers and eventually will overpopulate the smaller waters - then eat themselves out of house & home - and become stunted & thin. So, to help thin out the population and keep that from happening ... don't wait for "the spawn" - get after them BEFORE they can spawn.