PDA

View Full Version : Transducer trouble please help!!!!



slimeyslab
05-01-2007, 08:55 PM
Does anyone know if you can splice a transducer cable or do you have to replace the whole thing? Thanks for your time and help!

Treefish
05-01-2007, 09:11 PM
There is absolutely no way you can splice a cable. You will have to order the whole new cable...... sorry. :(

jlaughlin72
05-01-2007, 09:19 PM
There is absolutely no way you can splice a cable. You will have to order the whole new cable...... sorry. :(
I would have to argue with you on this. The very first time I took my boat out with my depth finder/sonar, whatever you want to call it, I got into some grass and pulled the trolling motor up to get it off and when I put it back down it clean cut the wires coming from my transducer. I spiced it back together and have had no problem with it. Probably used it 50 times since then and it worked fine every time. I have a Humminbird, so others may be different. This one has 2 wires in it that have a thin layer of silver wrap around them. I unwrapped the silver stuff and spiced one wire and taped it good, then the other wire and taped it, then rewrapped the silver stuff around it. One thing I did was cut the wires so that they were offset and it didn't make a big lump where they were... I say go for it, electrical tape is much cheaper than a new transducer..... On another note, if the splice is gonna be submerged in the water, electrical tape may not hold up, but maybe some heat shrink wire insulation would seal off.. Good luck and let us know what you decide to do.

pstone
05-01-2007, 09:23 PM
I cut my Hummingbird cable too. It had 3 wires and the silver stuff, and I spliced it with no trouble. Just be sure you tape it up good. Been using mine for a couple weeks since the splice.

jlaughlin72
05-01-2007, 09:43 PM
I cut my Hummingbird cable too. It had 3 wires and the silver stuff, and I spliced it with no trouble. Just be sure you tape it up good. Been using mine for a couple weeks since the splice.
Now that you mention it, i think mine had 3 wires also. It's been a few months since it happened....lol

Crappiefanatic
05-01-2007, 10:41 PM
I had a Hummingbird also and tried to splice mine. I thought it was good to go but I started getting false readings on the screen. Showing stuff that wasn't there. Spent $50 and solved that problem and im a little more careful now:D

whackmaster
05-01-2007, 11:26 PM
heres my 2cents .....I was told by a factory rep....no you cannot splice them........didn't try...just bought a new one

beenfishin?
05-02-2007, 12:29 AM
Heck, try it. If it works, great, if not, buy one. Nothin to lose by tryin. But if you don't try and it would work, then you lost whatever it cost to buy one. As for asking dealers and factory reps, their job is to SELL, so don't you think they would say it won't work even if it would??

crankbaitsteve
05-02-2007, 02:31 AM
Mine broke on my fish Id 2 depth-finder. I spliced it back together and it did fine. but then it broke in the connector and there's no way to repair is so i bought a extension and cut it in half and spliced in right end and it works fine. The cable extension is like 10 bucks so that's was the cheapest way out. Well all good with my transducer coaxial cable then guess what. My power cord shorts out at the depth-finder connection end to and as i said before .no way to repair. So what i did then was got some reg. wire connectors and crimped them to fit snugly on the connections on the finder, Then plunged them in to the back of the finder Then i added a zip tie to keep them from being pulled out. alligator clips on the other end of the wires for the battery and it's been working great for about 6 months. and i fish a lot:) i take my fish finder off at home so i do have to take the power cord with it. but it fits in the plastic case for the depth-finder just fine . anyway hope this helps. and sorry i went so long on this post. but i didn't want to spend 60 dollars on a new transducer when all that was messed up was the cable. Plus.That's my bait money:)

hogster
05-02-2007, 07:33 AM
Go to your auto parts store and get some heat shrink butt connectors.When you shrink them they have a sealant in them that oozes out of them and makes them weather proof.:D I use them at work every day and they are great.This way if the splice is below the surface the water wont bother it.

CatFan
05-02-2007, 08:39 AM
I've spliced them several times with great results. A friend had one that he cut twice and I spliced it in two different places and it worked fine. Just make sure to solder, insulate and seal the area after it's fixed.

Barnacle Bill
05-02-2007, 09:07 AM
Yes it can be done if you know what you are doing. Xducer cable is nothing but shielded cable. You will need some heat shrink for the small wires and some for the cable. Solder each wire staggering them so all the joints are not in the same place (makes less of a bulge). Coat each solder connection with liquid tape then slide the heat shrink on and apply heat. Now take off about Ĺ" of insulation from each side of the repairs to expose the shield. Wrap a piece of tin foil around the repairs and the exposed shield at both ends. Coat all this with liquid tape and before it dries slide the heat shrink on and apply heat. You now have a completely waterproof repair completed shielded (if you did it right). Good luck.

Treefish
05-02-2007, 03:17 PM
Bought a new unit March 2007, I am on my third cable already, the other two COULD not be spliced. I look at it this way, If there is money on the line and I have to rely on a spliced cable that could go at anytime or give false readings, then I'm going to do it right.
Thanks whackmaster and Crappiefanatic for agreeing.
Why don't we all just put tape on the holes we get in our boats? Same thing for me.

pstone
05-02-2007, 05:47 PM
I guess you didn't see where mine was WORKING FINE. I keep wire cutters and tape in the boat, if money is on the line, give me about 3 min and it will be up and running again. Then if I win the money i MIGHT buy another. I'm too broke to buy a 50 dollar cable for a 175 dollar graph, go figure.

Tape on holes in the boat is dangerous, splicing a transducer cable is not. Bad example.

slimeyslab
05-02-2007, 06:35 PM
No money on the line treefish, just fishing for fun. I'll give splicing a try and if that doesn't work I'll just turn the one around on my console for the rest of the day. Also, whats up with the taping over the hole comment. You are comparing a hole in the boat that is potentially a hazard vs.a depth finder. Pretty odd!!!!!!

Cane Pole
05-02-2007, 07:25 PM
Letís get technical. Sonars (fish finders) are not that critically calibrated. Typically, a shielded,stranded cable will have about 100 ohms resistance per 1000 ft length. A 25 foot run of this cable would have negligible resistance. It would take a time domain reflectometer to measure signal propagation loss in that short a distance. This type time domain device costs 1000ís. Now, ainít nothing inside any sonar that could measure this type tolerance. 50khz/200khz signals are relative slow signals. A good splice want distort the signal or cause any amplitude loss. Anybody who believes the cable is part of a critical calibration of a fish finder is getting hyped. If you can solder and splice, you can repair the cable. Period.

Compare it to a DSL telephone line. Here we got gigahertz going up to 2 miles down a telephone wire. There are lots of splices in the telephone cable wires from the Central Office to a house. Where is the calibration? Long distance wires are signal eaters, not short hauls or splices. This analogy make sense?

gcromer
05-02-2007, 07:55 PM
Well said Cane Pole...


Gerald K4NHN
Cayce, SC

fishman78
05-02-2007, 08:05 PM
Ive spliced them before with good results just make sure to use heat shrink tubeing and solder instead of the tapeNtwist method.

slimeyslab
05-02-2007, 08:42 PM
What Canepole said!!!

Treefish
05-02-2007, 09:31 PM
I can't even reply to some of these statements....... just incredible.
Anyhow best of luck in your splice job I really hope it lasts for you.
If it doesn't work just remember these posts....... you try to give somebody advice based on your 25 years of tournaments,too many boats owned to mention, graphs and finders dating back to 1983 when they were all paper graphs all the way to now and the new electronics but....... hey I'm finding every time someone replies to a post on here there is those few that ALWAYS are better.

Barnacle Bill
05-03-2007, 06:22 AM
I can't even reply to some of these statements....... just incredible.
Anyhow best of luck in your splice job I really hope it lasts for you.
If it doesn't work just remember these posts....... you try to give somebody advice based on your 25 years of tournaments,too many boats owned to mention, graphs and finders dating back to 1983 when they were all paper graphs all the way to now and the new electronics but....... hey I'm finding every time someone replies to a post on here there is those few that ALWAYS are better.

I don't think anyone is tying to "better" you. Some just have more experience on the subject. I can't speak for everyone but I recently retired from the electronics field and Canepole has been an electronics instructor for about 150 years. I know for a fact that no matter what the subject, I do not know it all and try to learn from those that know more than I do.

Cane Pole
05-03-2007, 06:45 PM
I don't think anyone is tying to "better" you. Some just have more experience on the subject. I can't speak for everyone but I recently retired from the electronics field and Canepole has been an electronics instructor for about 150 years. I know for a fact that no matter what the subject, I do not know it all and try to learn from those that know more than I do.

Thanks Bill. Some of us are just trying to help. Yep. Some of us here are experts in electronics. I not trying to be rude, but I don't see how 25 years tournament fishing, etc qualifies anyone as an expert in electronics. I bet my PHD on it.
Everybody has an opinion and mine is just another opinion. Anybody don't like what I say can put me on their ignore list. I am bloviating.

Jerry Blake
05-03-2007, 07:03 PM
Get an Angled Puck "Shoot-Thru-The-Hull Transducer" - http://www.humminbird.com/normal.asp?ID=799#puck - and your days of splicing OR replacing transducer cables because they got severed by your TM are over.

slimeyslab
05-03-2007, 08:24 PM
Update-- Went to Sardis Lake today and my splice worked perfect. Thanks everybody for your input and suggestions.

Treefish
05-03-2007, 08:57 PM
Good deal, did you catch any fish?

slimeyslab
05-04-2007, 12:19 PM
At Sardis it is hard not to. I ended up with 12 before the wind and rain pushed me off the water. Thanks

smoothlures
05-04-2007, 12:22 PM
At Sardis it is hard not to. I ended up with 12 before the wind and rain pushed me off the water. Thanks
Good job, glad to hear it worked for ya. :)

jlaughlin72
05-05-2007, 06:56 AM
Well, i think the main thing that came out of this thread is that IF you want to, try spicing and if it doesn't work then buy a new one..... In my first post on here, i said I would have to argue with you on that one, I didn't mean for anyone to get upset about it or anything like that.
If you tourney fished for the last 25 years, then you probably make/made pretty good money with your job because everyone knows that tourney fishing is pretty expensive to chase all the tourney's around. I barely graduated high school and didn't further my education, so I have been working construction and make less than 40k a year in a single income household supporting a wife and 4 kids, so I don't have $75 extra laying around to spend on another transducer, so I will take care of the problem in the least expensive way. And I know I am not the only one that feels this way. So if you have a high income your time is too valuable, save yourself the time and just buy another one, if you are a poor boy like myself, splice it.