Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: jig molds

Post Thanks / Like

Default jig molds

Who one here makes their own jig heads?
    If so how long does it take to make about 1000 and how hazardous is it to my health. I need to make some extra money and I have thought about doing this.

Where do you get your lead from.

Any advice tips would be appreciated.

Thanx
    Love, what more can I say

Lizella Fella Guest

Default pouring jigs

Mighty,

I make my own crappie jig heads. This year alone I guess I poured 500-700. Regrading ill effects of being exposed to the lead, I don't think it's a hazard unless you somehow get it in your blood stream. I've been doing it for many years now with no problems I can detect.

LF

Post Thanks / Like

Default making jigs

If you want to make about .25 cents an hour making jigs is a good way to waste your time. You wont make any money. I only consider it worth while for making jigs for yourself if you want premium jigs and loose alot. No more running to the store, if you live out in the sticks.

Lead pot $50
    Mold $40
    Lead $10
    Hooks $40
    Paint $10
    Time ???????
    --------------
    How many jigs do you have to sell to make back $150???
    Thats beak even then you have to buy more molds and lead and hooks. What about electricity or gas to heat your lead.
    "Some days im Basstastic other days im crapptacular"

Post Thanks / Like

I can and do make 1000 a day, it is work when you are making large amounts but can be worth it once your set up. If you charge .17 each as I do thats 170.00 a day. but you have to be willing to put in the time to do it. Stay away from the hobby supplies as they just don't hold up for large productions. Dont pour in the house and make sure you have good ventilation and you will be fine.

Post Thanks / Like