Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: using jigs

Post Thanks / Like

Default using jigs

I would like any and all help I could get on using jigs. I am new to jigs so need to know about tight lining along with using a bobber. How much movement if any is needed and which way to move the jig?
    Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

If tightlining, Just holding your rod will put enough vibration into the line for the jig. You are still moving even holding rod steady. Using a cork, Just work the cork back an inch or two at the time. This will instill a pendulum action into the jig. There is plenty of ways to work a jig but slow is the main way. CF
    The Original Woodsgoat Hater
    2011 NWR Bash Yellow Perch Champion

Post Thanks / Like

I would tell you that most beginner jig fishermen will move the jig WAY too much. No matter how hard you try, you cannot hold a jig still in the water. Just lower it down to the depth and hold it still. You will develop some sort of motion as you learn. Often it helps to SLOWLY lift the jig up a foot or so, then let it back down, watching your line for slack or movement. Often you will lower the jig and then when you go to pick it up you will feel something like a wet Kleenex weight on your line. Set the hook. Another mistake beginner jig fishermen make is waiting for the fish to take the bait. Often a fish will peck peck peck at a minnow before taking it. With a jig, one peck is usually all you get. When you feel the peck or "thump" set the hook immediately. Strong arguments about the papermouth of the crappie and types of hooksets. I set it hard. If you go with braided line, however, you will lose a lot of fish with a hard hookset. Just remember, let the jig work itself. You'll really like it, it's not nearly as hard as you think!
    Future member of any forum deathb4disco moderates.

Member of Wally Marshall's Mr. Crappie Pro Staff

Post Thanks / Like

Sandwich Maker is right!