Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Starfire II vs. Night Blaster Comparison

Post Thanks / Like

Default Starfire II vs. Night Blaster Comparison

I'm really new to night stalking but I'm warming up to it very quickly, as I've managed to catch from 12 to 45 crappies on each of the only 5 times I've tried it. And in each case, I was finished for the night by 10:45 pm. For my striper forays, I had bought a 4 foot long green light (Hydroglow clone) and finally a Honda generator/Sodium light set-up.

Well, I had success with both but I was eager to avoid the generator noise if possible. After advice here, I bought a Brinkman Starfire II and also had enough Bass Pro points to get an Optronics Night Blaster also. The starfire II is 250,000 cp and the night blaster is 300,000.

So I tried it three nights ago with one at the bow and the other at the stern. The short answer after one trip is I am delighted with the ability of both to draw bait. Within 30-40 minutes, my depthfinder stopped reading the 27 ft bottom and read 3 to 4 feet for the next hour!

Of the two lights, the Starfire is now my personal preference after 1 night of trying. It broadcast a nice circle of light. The Optronics is a little weird. It's shaped like a "potato masher" if anyone remembers those. It has the bulb sealed in plastic so it tries to float when placed in water. You have to hold it under water to allow the air to escape so it will sink. It has rattle beads in it for fish attraction .the package says it rattles and bubbles to attract fish....hmmm... don't know about all that. It is a bit brighter (300K vs 250k) but it broadcasts straight down due to its design, so it would be hard to see rod tips using it without extra light.