HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Getting a little down

Post Thanks / Like

Default Getting a little down

So I'm new to crappie fishing as many here have seen. From all that I've learned here I've been super eager to go catch as many as I could. I've been to lakes, rivers, and ponds that I know hold crappie. But without electronics to know where the brush is, or laydowns that I cant see, I haven't been able to locate any. I really wanted to get on them hard this year but either my knowledge still isnt good enough, or I need a fish finder to know where to fish.

So I'm a bit bummed I put in all this reading and learning and getting gear but haven't been able to get on the crappie except when I was at a fellow members private pond that was over ran with them!

Just ranting, but still, i feel a bit like a failure because i devoted alot of effort into learning the ways of crappie fishing, only to come up empty handed. Well, except for a ton of sunfish.

Sent from my SM-G950U1 using Crappie.com Fishing mobile app
    Likes funfishers LIKED above post

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Don't be down on yourself !!

I've fished for Crappie since the 1950's and still manage to get skunked (or nearly skunked), even with 60 some years of experience AND depth finders

In fact, fishing around here is so slow right now ... the last two fishing trips & the one I'm going on tomorrow will be for Bass (yeah, I know, that's a four letter word on a Crappie website but it still beats sitting in the recliner and dreaming about Crappie fishing)
    Thanks Pondfisher42 thanked you for this post

Post Thanks / Like

If you don't have good times while trying then it's a failure, but if you enjoy your efforts it's a success.
    It sounds to me like you are putting in the effort. Keep reading this forum, one day an idea will make sense to you and you will be off and running.