HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Crappies / line shy?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Crappies / line shy?

Are crappies really line shy?
    I have read a lot of post recommended 4-6 lb line and a lot use hi-vis line. I need some suggestions regarding line. Sorry I’m pretty new to crappie fishing and I’ve already use search function but still can’t decide.
    I usually cast and reel, sometimes horizontal jigging and bobbers at night. I have used light blue 4lb izorline, 10lb white braid line and green 18lb gliss line. I don’t use any leader and all seem to catch fish. I plan to switch to 6lb copolymer line and I’m not sure if that is a good idea. I fish mostly from bank around rip-rap. Would hi-vis line give me more advantages over clear line?

Post Thanks / Like

I been using hi vis mono for years 4 6 & 8 lb, Stren, Mr Crappie, Vicious, it's personal preference - I mainly vertical jig for crappie but cast alot also. Try em all braid etc.

Sent from my SM-J337P using Crappie.com Fishing mobile app
    Likes trypman1, Blackhawk19 LIKED above post
    Thanks Just_Bass thanked you for this post

ezgoing is offline Crappie.com 1K Star General * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

In the past I have fished with 8 # hi-vis mono, I currently am fishing with 20 # soft braid. I have caught large numbers of crappie with both. I used the hi-vis to make it easier for me to see line movement, not for the crappie.

So my experience has been that the line does not bother crappie.

As to fishing method, sometimes I use jigging, sometimes I use cast and reel, sometimes I use cast out, hold the rod tip high and let the jig return to the vertical position. I prefer jigging but experiment each time to see what the crappie prefer.
    We are all born ignorant but one must work really hard to remain stupid. -Ben Franklin
    PROUD MEMBER OF TEAM GEEZER
    Any day I'm fishing is a good day, regardless of what I catch.