Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: bank fishing for a rookie

Post Thanks / Like

Default bank fishing for a rookie

Hey guys Ive been around a couple of months only a couple posts mostly just reading and learning., So here goes I have a pond near me maybe 10 acres give or take its public, but no boats allowed. I live in illinois by the way. anyway my only real choice is bank fishing so comes the minnow vs jig question. There is a couple of docks I can fish a jig off of but in the past at this place I've had great luck with twister tails and minnows, but Im feeling kind of left out without a boat, I mean Ive got other spots to go but then its borrow a boat or rent one... you know what I mean. So should I feel left out or can I still work a jig from the bank, just trying to get it out past a drop off? Any other suggestions for a primarly bank fisherman? By the way Im no pro but I was reading in crappie magazine about putting the palm of your hand under the line to lift and lower very slowly and Ive actually had some luck with that off of a dock, You really are moving the jig fast when you use your pole I realized it when I put my hand on the line and moved it that way. One more thing- As the water temps go up do the fish go deeper or how does that go, 2 guys told me today at this pond to fish 4/5foot I was getting them at 3 but theres were much bigger they were using minnows too. probablly too many questions but I gotta ask, - Joel

Post Thanks / Like

Joel, try using a bobber. Cast out and retrieve it slow, giving it a little jerk now and then. Vary the speed of the retrieve until you find the speed they like. I use mostly jig heads with Bass Pro's Squirming Squirts.

shipahoy41 is offline Crappie.com Legend - 2022 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Thumbs up