Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anyone Willing to Help Out a Newbie?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Anyone Willing to Help Out a Newbie?

I posted this in the Georgia forum, but doesn’t appear there is much traffic there, so I decided to repost here. As the title says, I’m a total newbie to crappie fishing. I’m a bass fisherman and have always been interested in catching slabs, but have no idea where to start. I fish at Walter F. George, or lake Eufaula as most call it. I am not trying to internet scout or ask for any secret spots, just looking to be pointed in the right direction. I understand crappie are currently spawning. Where should I look for crappie to spawn? I know plenty are caught around docks, but what type of docks should I be looking for? Minnows or jigs? Lastly, not asking for specific directions to a spot, but any ideas on where to roughly start looking where I will at least be in the general area of some fish? Any help would be greatly appreciated, just want to see what crappie fishing is all about. Thanks and God bless.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by JA1989 View Post
    I’m a bass fisherman and have always been interested in catching slabs, but have no idea where to start.

Your bass fishing is good training. Start by reading this "Bass Pros Crappie Fish" article:

Crappie NOW - November 2017
    Likes SpeckledSlab LIKED above post

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Lightbulb This should get you "started" ....

White Crappie - wood cover
    Black Crappie - rock/sand/pea gravel or vegetation cover

But, either or both will utilize whatever cover is available in the event their preferred cover is not.