Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Catfish & setting hook.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Catfish & setting hook.

I'm new to catfishing and I had a bunch of them on the line but they are getting off shortly after. I'm using fresh cut shad with a #2 trebble. The set up is a teardrop weight at the bottom going up 1½ft to a swivel barrel with 6in of line then the trebble hook. About 2 feet above the swivel is a very small float to keep my hook from going between rocks at the bottom and getting hung.
    He that does the truth comes into the light
    Free the people through music!:D

Post Thanks / Like

Default cat

I would use a 2/0 octupus style hook,eagle claw,owner,gama rigged carolina style,egg shaped sinker about 18" from hook above swivel.Use just enough weight to keep bait on bottom,usually 2oz or less.When you have a bite let the fish run with the bait several feet,10-15 and set the hook,PRESTO!

Post Thanks / Like

Default cat

I would use a 2/0 octupus style hook,eagle claw,owner,gama rigged carolina style,egg shaped sinker about 18" from hook above swivel.Use just enough weight to keep bait on bottom,usually 2oz or less.When you have a bite let the fish run with the bait several feet,10-15 and set the hook,PRESTO!

Post Thanks / Like

thanks coosa. Do I set the drag loose or the reverse reel switch to let it run?

Post Thanks / Like

what i do is lock my reel down and put it in rod holder. then i pull out about 2 foot of line off spool and let it just be loose so they can run 2ft. (some people put floats on there line and pull the line down 2 ft). When i get a good run that 2ft is enough for him to take off then my ugly stick rods hook them and about all i do it pick it up set hook better and reel. i like using khale hooks 3/0-5/0 for channel catfish 8/0-10/0 for big blues and flatheads.

Post Thanks / Like