Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Rod Holders

Post Thanks / Like

Default Rod Holders

I just got 2 of the Driftmaster T-bar set ups that hold 4 rod holders each. This is my first time with Driftmaster and I'm impressed with the Quality. If you other guys are thinking about them put some thought into the right/ left thread thing as this would be a problem if you wanted some holders on both sides of the boat.

Anyway,the base that actually attaches to the boat is round with 3 holes to accept screws that are provided to screw into the boat. I got to thinking that there will be a lot of pressure on those 3 screws, especially since they are so close together. I traced the outline of the gunnels on my boat and had my friend fab. 2 "U" shaped channels of 1/8" stainless steel. Each channel is 3 ft. long. I plan to thru-bolt the base to the channel and then fasten the whole thing to the boat with several screws through each of the vertical legs of the channels. I hope that this will distribute the load evenly.

If all goes as planned I will be able to fish 8 poles at once without ever having to move to tend them. I'm thinking of using 10',12'14',and 16' poles on each side with the shortest forward, that way I can lead a hooked fish forward and to the boat without it getting into the other poles.

Any comments on my scheme? Hopefully I'll be able to let you know how it works after this weekend.

Bill H., Are you gonna try it this weekend?

-Brad Baker
    Father of 4 time bash winner. At least I'm pretty sure:o

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I sure hope so but don't know where yet.
    Fair Winds and Following Seas

Bill H. PTC USN Ret
    Chesapeake, Va

Post Thanks / Like