Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rod advice

Post Thanks / Like

Default Rod advice

I’ve been trolling for for two years now and have been using 14ft Capps and Coleman trolling rods. I love the sensitivity of the rods and feel I catch a lot of fish that I wouldn’t with a stiffer rod. The only issue I have is these poles seem to lack backbone when lifting fish out of the water especially when fishing deeper depths. I was just wondering if there was a rod out there with the same sensitivity but with more backbone for lifting fish.

Post Thanks / Like

Time for a net, jmo.
    Likes skeetbum LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

I’ve got one. Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Home | ProAngler Tackle check them out great feel and fantastic back bone. I have 6 and I have caught a 32lb flathead with it and I was amazed the back bone it had.
    Likes tb27688, Stainless LIKED above post

Swampseed is offline Crappie.com 1K Star General * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I bought PST's and extra tips that are Capps n Coleman tips. If I'm pushing under 1oz I put on the C&C tips and over the PST tips. So even with C&C tips 2/3 of the rod the backbone is PST's and swinging fish is no problem. Almost like having 2 rods in one.
    Likes "G", tb27688 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Denali's are pretty good as well, you get the sensitivity and backbone you need. I don't even consider reaching for a net on anything less then 2 lbs.
    Likes trypman1, tb27688 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

I swing in fish with 12' poles, With my 14 & 16' I net or grab line close to boat. You might lose one every once and awhile, but unless you are tourniment fishing who really cares.
    Likes "G", tb27688 LIKED above post

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by tb27688 View Post