Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tying a leader to nano

Post Thanks / Like

Default Tying a leader to nano

Any of you guys attempt to tie an FG knot with 3# nanofil to a flourocarbon leader? Ive watched video after video and cant get it right. That nano is some aggravating stuff!!

Post Thanks / Like

I have not used nanofil but know that with Powerpro superslick I have to double the braid on many knots. The FG so far has not required this, might be worth a shot with the nanofill.

Post Thanks / Like

Precisely the reason I do not use it any more. I used 2# test nanofil on a couple of my rigs back 2 years ago. Ended up taking the stuff off and replacing it with my tried & true Fireline Crystal in 2# test. I can cast just as far with this line as with nanofil, without all the head aches. And I've yet to have a knot fail on me.

I've been tying knots now for about 60 years. NEVER have I had as much difficulty tying a leader (or jig) to any line I've ever used - and I've used a LOT of different lines. Not only that, but when you "feel" you've done everything right with tying that knot with nanofil, it fails! No thanks!
    "A voyage in search of knowledge need never abandon the spirit of adventure."

Post Thanks / Like