Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Lifejackets?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Lifejackets?

Just wanted to know if you guys wear your lifejackets all the time when you are on the water? I guess the question stems from the two fishermen we lost three weeks ago here on kentucky lake and once again this weekend two were lost in Ohio.

I have to admit I don't wear mine near as much as I should. I SHOULD have had it on today while at Big Sandy. The water was rough, rough, rough. Just not smart standing one footed, while running a trolling motor, in three foot rollers with the front of the boat bouncing up and down like a weighted cork.

How many of you wear the automatic suspender type life vest. I'm thinking about ordering one. They are a little pricy but how do were determine pricy...when we are talking about never possibly seeing our family and friends again?

I've been boating for twenty years. When I go canoeing, I wear my life vests. Why not when I'm in my big boat? I think I get a false sense of security. The boat handles big water well and I don't feel threatened unless it really gets bad. BAD THINKING!!!

What do you guys think?
    CH

Post Thanks / Like

Hmmm , interesting , I always think about putting mine on. But I just hate to wear it. It is uncomfortable hot and hard to move in. You would think this day in age they would come up with a comfortable vest.

Coony

Post Thanks / Like

Coony...they do. Look in the Bass Pro Shops catalog and you will see life jackets that look like suspenders. They open up automatically when you hit the water. Rain will not set them off...only if you go in the drink. They are however anywhere from $125.00 and up. They look real comfortable to wear just make you a little light in the pants...if you know what I mean.

Post Thanks / Like