Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Live Bait or Lures, What Really Works Well

Post Thanks / Like

Default Live Bait or Lures, What Really Works Well

Greetings,

I'm a retired Vet and Commercial driver finally retired to do some fishing. For now til I'm able to find a decent boat from somewhere (Jon boat,preferably) I have to fish from the bank or the pier. I've used live worms and stink baits, DIY baits, commercial and plastics. I am wanting to know what will work best to catch more fish! So, where I live in Greensboro,NC there is only one place to get live bait and that is at Oak Hollow in High Point. Stuck with using either lures or worms which sometimes won't work.

I usually go for catfish but now am trying out for Crappie. I've watched alot of videos on Youtube and taken notes on what types of lures to use. So, when I finally go to the lake of my choice, I want to be armed on what types of lures or baits will work. I've also been told that if I don't have a boat, I won't catch anything from the bank or pier.

Can someone help me in determining what types of baits Crappie will go after and if not having a boat is a disadvantage of catching anything from the bank or pier. If there is a Greensboro native who has a boat that doesn't mind a fishing buddy please let me know!

Post Thanks / Like

I think you could use live minnows to catch crappie out of a mud-hole. Minners is my vote. Bank fishing can be a little bit of a disadvantage but minners will help even the odds.
    Likes greenchicken LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Student: "Master, how can I catch fish consistently?

Master: "Learn to use the jig, Grasshopper."
    Likes shipahoy41 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like