Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trolling or Drifting

Post Thanks / Like

Default Trolling or Drifting

I haven't been successful in the past trolling or drifting for crappie. What's the secrect? A tournament fisherman gave me some ideas on early season fish staging near creek mouths, but I was in the hosptial and didn't get a chance to try it. I think they are on the banks now. Can you still get them in deeper water? Do they move in and out while they're spawning? He told me to use two crubs about 18 inches apart. Does anyone have anymore lure or jig or bait configuration that may help? Speed and places to toll? Thanks very much for any info. A GREENHORN,

mini moe

Post Thanks / Like

I'm not a expert but trolling drifting has been working for me. I do not know your lake but I use a depth finder to locate structure but mostly fish and see how deep they are. the lake I fish has very little cover and I fish what little cover there is plus drift open water (main creek channel). I also use two poles and tie two feather jigs to line and work the poles up and down slowly to entice tough fish to bite. Color is a major factor. I have tried several colors of jig combinations to come to the best color as of now. I know the crappie are shallow here but I like drifting. I have noticed to that i'm not catching any egg laden fish so they must be shallow too. We went this morning for 1.5 hours then rain ran us off caught 12 crappie and one w. bass drifting around boo condo and open water. Fish were 3 to 7 foot deep in 12 -18 foot water. Keep trying you will find out what works best and use different colored jigs at same time. Try gr.chart. head body with dark (Forest green)tail or gr. chart. head with white grub.

TT

Post Thanks / Like