HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why long rods when pulling cranks?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Why long rods when pulling cranks?

Hey guys I’m pretty new to crappie.com. I’m 32 now and haven’t trolled for crappie since I was probably 10-12 years old with my now late grand father.

Back then he used 6’ poles usually had 4-6 out at a time. I understand spider rigging having long poles to get the bait away from the trolling motor, but scratching my head on pulling cranks.

I plan to start trolling again my self. The boat I just bought had a bar across the back with 4 monster rod holders and two monster rod holders one on each side on the gunnels.

From what have read I plan buy the poles and spread them out as described below.

Plan to put two 14’ poles one on each side of the gunnels at a 90 degree angle.

Two 12’ poles one on each side of the outside bar at a 45 degree angle and then two 10 or two 8’ poles in the center at say 15 degree angles.

If I done this with say all 6’or 7’ poles as described above what would I lose from a fishability and performance stand point?

Thanks in advance!! P.S. I am going to move the bar and rod holders on gunnels pictured. Previous owner set them up this way.
    Attached Images Attached Images    
    Likes S10CHEVY, ad1974, "D" LIKED above post
    Thanks jackie53 thanked you for this post

Post Thanks / Like

From what I understand long rods are used in combination with shorter rods to achieve lure separation. You will have mess trying to run 4 or more rods of equal length at the same time without planer boards.

It may work fine until you try to make a turn or hook a fish and it decides to swim sideways.

Post Thanks / Like

Now that you say that I remember my grand father pulling in the rods everytime before we made a turn, but going straight it worked for him with all the same rods lengths

Post Thanks / Like

Plan to put two 14’ poles one on each side of the gunnels at a 90 degree angle.