PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Crappie question.

dragnframe
07-20-2018, 07:54 AM
Newbie here that just started fishing with my 7yr old boy that wanted to get into fishing. We have been fishing for crappie at our local lake and have little success, but that's another story. Yesterday while talking to a guy he warned me that we shouldn't keep and eat any crappie we catch this time of year. He said its to hot, they get soft and can even have worms. I have never hear of this. Is there any truth to this? I live in Ohio and while it has been 10 15 above avg temps, is it safe to eat the fish still?

Thanks

LowellZ
07-20-2018, 08:03 AM
Newbie here that just started fishing with my 7yr old boy that wanted to get into fishing. We have been fishing for crappie at our local lake and have little success, but that's another story. Yesterday while talking to a guy he warned me that we shouldn't keep and eat any crappie we catch this time of year. He said its to hot, they get soft and can even have worms. I have never hear of this. Is there any truth to this? I live in Ohio and while it has been 10 15 above avg temps, is it safe to eat the fish still?

ThanksI have never heard this but I am in Mississippi and it is sweltering hot outside with a water temp in the 90's. I am still eating my catch :) sounds like a superstition to me.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Crappie.com Fishing mobile app (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87936)

Nutbush
07-20-2018, 08:13 AM
Sounds like he is trying to keep the lake to himself.

SlabSeeker0485
07-20-2018, 08:28 AM
We caught a mess in 100 degree heat last weekend here in Arkansas and they hit the grease last night. Never heard of that either.

dragnframe
07-20-2018, 08:37 AM
Didn't make sense to me, but I thought, I better ask being a new to all this.

Thanks

trypman1
07-20-2018, 08:47 AM
Filet and soak over night- They are fine, I have never seen worms in them.

lowe175
07-20-2018, 08:51 AM