Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need advice about new Garmin Finder combo

Post Thanks / Like

Default Need advice about new Garmin Finder combo

I posted this on a bass forum and got one response, hope some folks here can help

I am new to Garmin, coming from Humminbird a long time ago.

Hope some of the Garmin users here can give me a hand. Here's my requirements, they are very simple as I am primarily a Crappie fisherman now.

1. 9" Unit with GPS and high resolution charts of fishing lakes & rivers (inland, no offshore at all needed).

2. Down Imaging, Side Imaging, 2d, CHIRP and the ability in the future to add Panoptix. Can't afford it at the moment.

3. The only transducer mount will be on the trolling motor, no transom mount needed.

Any suggestions, and reasoning behind them, from experienced Garmin guys would be appreciated.

Tom

Post Thanks / Like

Not sure exactly what your looking for but I have the Striker plus 7sv and it’s a great graph. I’m still new to it honestly so my “technical” input isn’t much but ease of use is pretty straightforward. Super clear images. Good luck

Post Thanks / Like

I think if you are wanting Panoptix to be in your future then you must go with at least an Echomap Chirp. To add Livescope you would have to get a PLUS model. If you never want to go above Panoptix you probably can find a held over model in stock somewhere for much less than I paid for mine a couple of years ago. Brian at BBG would be a very good place to start your search. Lots of folks here have used him, yet to hear a complaint. Mine is a 93sv chirp non-plus. I'm quite happy with it
    Likes skunked again LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Unfortunately, the Striker units do not include mapping/hi definition charts.

Glad you are happy with yours as I understand the Striker and the Echomap Plus units share everything except mapping.

Tom

Post Thanks / Like