HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jig under slip float?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Jig under slip float?

How many of you use a jig under a slip float?

1. If you do, what’s the smallest jig weight that will work as in pulling through the float.

2. Can you see a bite as it’s falling?
    Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    G3PO

Post Thanks / Like

I'm new to crappie fishing this year but I've used a jig under a float a lot. I've caught lots of crappie this way.. especially when using crappie nibbles. They usually pull the cork under for me. I try to use the smallest cork I can to float the bait I'm using.
    Likes "G", brettw, kycreek LIKED above post
    Thanks Smoltz thanked you for this post

Post Thanks / Like

Forget the float and just cast the jig.
    Likes brettw, Countryboy N.C., Crestliner08 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Default Jig under slip float?

Quote Originally Posted by deathb4disco View Post
    Forget the float and just cast the jig.
    Of course the float will hold a jig exactly at the top of a brush pile and allow it to be moved slowly. Seems like an ok idea

G3PO
    Likes SpeckledSlab LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Floats work especially if the jighead is light and the bait's action subtle. I use soft plastics under a float and like to see it dive after two dips.
    Likes brettw LIKED above post

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by brettw View Post
    How many of you use a jig under a slip float?

1. If you do, what’s the smallest jig weight that will work as in pulling through the float.

2. Can you see a bite as it’s falling?
    Thanks
    Answer to your initial question : I do not. And for that matter, I rarely (if ever) use a jig under "any type" of float. Nonetheless, here's my take on the other two questions.