Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Slow trolling rod opinions

Post Thanks / Like

Default Slow trolling rod opinions

I was curious on what everyone’s opinions are on which rods would be better for slow trolling double minnow rigs and single jigs. I’m thinking about going with either 16 bgjp’s or Capps and Coleman trolling rods. I have heard that the bgjps are lighter but I’m curious if a Capps and Coleman is light enough to slow troll single jigs if needed. Bare with me because I am completely new to slow trolling. Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

I like the C&C rods...In my opinion they handle weights from 1/4 to 1/2 ounce really well.I pretty much always double rig with them but they should work well with a single jig setup,they're a pretty limber and sensitive pole.

Swampseed is offline Crappie.com 1K Star General * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

If completely new have you thought about starting with 14's??
    Likes Snubby LIKED above post

"G" is offline Super Duper Moderator - 2012 Crappie.Com Man of the year & 2018 Crappie.com Decade of Exceptional Service Awards * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

I use 14 ft. BnM Capps and Colemans....been useing them a long time...i like them.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Crappie.com Fishing mobile app
    I have spent most my life fishing........the rest I wasted.
    PROUD MEMBER OF TEAM GEEZER
    PICO Lures Field Rep
    Likes Slabo LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

I like my Southern Crappie rods, I have a set of the scr143 (14' rods) and can't imagine a tougher rod that also offers tip sensitivity. I've had these rods doubled under the boat on numerous occasions and have yet to break a rod or a tip section.
    Likes TNReb58 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by bowhunter1 View Post