Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trailer Brake question

Post Thanks / Like

Default Trailer Brake question

Looking for a little advice since I am not a mechanic. Bought another boat and pulled it home to Ky from Tx. On the way back we came across an accident and it was stop and go for about 45 min. The trailer brakes started squeaking and were really hot. My sense is they got hot, the metal expanded and the brakes started rubbing (lots of dust on the wheels). They finally cooled and quit squeaking and we made it back. Took the boat to wash it and noticed the hubs were really hot again, but not squeaking. I am not sure if it has a bad solenoid, actuator not working right, calipers stuck causing pads to rub or what. Any thoughts?? I don’t have the know how to fix it. Is this a marine mechanic job or should I just take it to a vehicle mechanic that does brakes? Wish I were smart enough to diagnose and fix myself, but my skill set is not mechanical.
    If you were on trial for being a Christian would there be enough evidence to convict you??

Former Navy Corpsman

"G" is offline Super Duper Moderator - 2012 Crappie.Com Man of the year & 2018 Crappie.com Decade of Exceptional Service Awards * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

Electric brakes ? Or hydraulic ? If electric maybe you just had them set too tight for slow stop and go conditions.
    Post this over on the mechanics board and someone will help you with it.
    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Crappie.com Fishing mobile app
    I have spent most my life fishing........the rest I wasted.
    PROUD MEMBER OF TEAM GEEZER
    PICO Lures Field Rep
    Likes kycreek LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by G";3642252]Electric brakes ? Or hydraulic ? If electric maybe you just had them set too tight for slow stop and go conditions.
    Post this over on the mechanics board and someone will help you with it.