Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Better for shell cracker, Kentucky or Barkley lakes?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Better for shell cracker, Kentucky or Barkley lakes?

Wondering what you all think is the better lake for catching those big plate size crackers, Kentucky or Barkley?

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Rockhitter View Post
    Wondering what you all think is the better lake for catching those big plate size crackers, Kentucky or Barkley?
    I have no personal knowledge, but all the episodes I've seen of Ky Afield (Jim Doom/Tim Farmer & Jim Doom/Chad Miles) where they were Bluegill/Shellcracker fishing .... were done on Barkley Lake.
    Likes Monark King190 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks CrappiePappy!

Post Thanks / Like

Rockhitter, I agree with Cappie Pappy. Barkely has been the best for me. I fished the creeks/bays around Canton, East side of Barkley, Lick Creek and Hopson Creek for Bluegill and Shell crackers. Lick Creek has a road bed running across the bay toward the back end that is excellent. Sit/anchor on the road bed and fish either side. If you put in the Devil's elbow ramp, just go back to the left in the middle of the bay until you see the change in depth for the road bed. Best I can remember it's about 4-5 ft on the road bed and about 6-8 ft on the sides at summer pool. There is also a bridge that has been blown out toward the right side going back. But, this has been a few years, but, I would love to be there now. Let me know how you do if you fish this area.
    Likes Hotpepper, Clipper LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks perchjerker108, Barkley is big and everything looks good.

Post Thanks / Like