HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: spider rigger and trolling questions

Post Thanks / Like

Default spider rigger and trolling questions

im brand new to crappie fishing and have a driftmaster crowfoot on the front of my bass boat with six rod holders. i know spider rigging is primarly for sitting over brush piles but can i also troll slowly out the front as well?
    Likes catchNgrease, chippo LIKED above post

CrappiePappy is online now Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by 1barnabus View Post
    im brand new to crappie fishing and have a driftmaster crowfoot on the front of my bass boat with six rod holders. i know spider rigging is primarly for sitting over brush piles but can i also troll slowly out the front as well?
    Absolutely !! You can also Push/Pull jigs/cranks, longline troll, & slow troll/drift flats or open water. (depending on pole length/strength, as it may vary some between these methods)

Post Thanks / Like

im using 16 ft southern crappie rods.so what is the advantage of running the baits out the side of the boat

Post Thanks / Like

so what is the advantage of running the baits out the side of the boat
    Pulling out the side is about the same as pulling out of the back it gets the lures farther away from the boat. If you are pulling from the front of the boat setting a couple rods off the side lets you cover both pushing off the front and pulling / long lining simultaneously. Clear water, crowded fishing conditions and spooky fish are some of the reasons pulling baits 90 to 100 feet behind the boat works better than pushing them within the distance of the length of your poles from the bow.

CrappiePappy is online now Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

im using 16 ft southern crappie rods.so what is the advantage of running the baits out the side of the boat