Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Locating crappie in a cypress trees and stumps

Post Thanks / Like

Default Locating crappie in a cypress trees and stumps

Hey all,

I'm pretty new to crappie fishing. I went today in a cove with a number of cypress trees. I must've dangled a minnow in front of a hundred trees with no luck. Average depth was about 6 or 8 feet.

How do I find fish with so much woody cover around?

Thanks in advance!

Post Thanks / Like

I'm mainly looking for fishing techniques. As in, is it productive to burn a rooster tail, or road runner around as many trees as possible until getting bit, and then dangle minnows, etc?

Eagle 1 is offline Crappie.com Legend and Mississippi Moderator * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

this is what I do but I am no guru either at finding fish . Fish the outside trees, trees on creek or ditches leading to shallow water from trees to bank . Try depths from 1 ft. back out to deeper trees . That's without the use of a side image depth finder. Got that ? just cruise till you see them . Hope this helps and others reply for you also.I mainly single pole jigs 1/16-1/8 unless in very clear water (which must be very deep. 8ft. or better)I then use 1/64 or 1/32 .

Post Thanks / Like

I have the transducer on my trolling motor, if I want to know what's going on I will pull right up to the tree and watch the sonar. Care needs to be taken in shallow water, as pulling up that close will probably spook fish.

Again, I'm not expert, but when fishing areas with a lot of timber, trees that are adjacent to a drop off, creek channel, or brush will be most likely to attract fish.

Post Thanks / Like

I say the fish were just not there, or they were non aggressive that day.

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for the replies men!

I wondering if dropping pressure may have had thier mouths closed, or chased them out deep?

sinkermaker is offline Crappie.com Legend * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like