Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Making "stumps"

Post Thanks / Like

Default Making "stumps"

I was out fishing last night and was trolling across this wide flat. It doesnt have much structure on it and its about 5 feet deep. I was thinking, what if I were to get several plastic buckets and fill with concrete then sink them on the flat. I have no experience with this. How much concrete should go in the bucket? Would they stand upright ok? Would adding a few short PVC pipes in each one be better? Just seeing what anyone thinks.

Post Thanks / Like

If there isn't any cover on the flat....either way should work fine. The easiest thing to do will be to just take the buckets and fill them up with gravel, chunk rock, or anything else that you can find. I wouldn't spend any money on concrete unless you want to put vertical cover in it....

Take a 20' piece of rope and double it through the handle. Lower the bucket down and bounce it up and down with the rope to settle it on the bottom without knocking over the "stump" and spilling the rocks out. Then just release one side of the rope and pull the rope on out....then go to the next one.

Post Thanks / Like

i agree with ceb, do not spend money on concrete, just about a third full should do it if it is in a low current area, that away you can get more in your boat, i like putting them in a circle formation, just take that rope and lift once or twice and make sure it seeds well and when algey gets on them it should work well. good luck.
    WE NEED MORE COWBELL

Post Thanks / Like

Plus the gravel will draw crayfish and provide a spawning area in the bucket.

Post Thanks / Like