Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Head Color

Post Thanks / Like

Default Head Color

Okay I have got one for you that I am sure will generate some feedback--It is a question that me and several of my fishing buddies have discussed which always generates many opinions---Does the color of the jig head really make that much difference????
    Get the net!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Knappy
    Okay I have got one for you that I am sure will generate some feedback--It is a question that me and several of my fishing buddies have discussed which always generates many opinions---Does the color of the jig head really make that much difference????
    I am still new to crappie fishing but I work with a man who fishes tournaments and he usually places. I made some jigs for him and he told me that he was fishin the other day with the black head,silver body, chartruse tail and catching fish. He got hung up and lost it. He then tied on the same jig only it had a purple head. No fish. Changed back to one with the black head and started catchin fish again! Said it don't always make a difference but when they are finicky and biting real light it can make all the difference! I went yesterday and started out with black head, black and pink, got some real light bites. changed to pink head orange and chartruse in the same brush pile and they slammed it! No need to set the hook, just lift up on the rod. Jig color made a tremendous difference.

Brian
    Brian

Will fish for food!

Post Thanks / Like

Some days I believe it makes a difference. I start with a variation of pink most days. Anyone have a favorit jig head color?

Seth

Post Thanks / Like

Sometimes in some waters it makes a difference, but alot of times I use a plain lead head on one pole and a painted on the other and don't see a difference at all. It boils down to what have confidence in.
    Catch and Release: Catch the slabs and Release the little'uns