Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 14 or 16

Post Thanks / Like

Default 14 or 16

Ok I know this probably has been talked about multiple times, but I'm going to ask again. I am going to upgrade some of my long poles, and am unsure as to whether to get 14 or 16'? I currently use 12' to push minners and jigs, but am wanting to buy 3-4 new poles. I will use up to 2 ounce on the same pole at times. I mainly fish 5-15' deep if that matters.

Sent from my HUAWEI Y536A1 using Crappie.com Fishing mobile app

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I use 14' rods for pushing jigs/cranks (1/2oz - 1.5oz weights) .... along with a couple of shorter (6-10') rods at times. I find the 14' rods adequate to spread out my baits, in conjunction with the shorter rods, and find them reasonably easy to deal with. I am a novice at "pushing" and my TM is only 12v 42# thrust, so I'm limited in speed & duration ... but, make do with what I have & have been successful in catching fish with them.
    Likes Nutbush LIKED above post

M R Dux is offline Crappie.com Legend , 2018 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

14s all the way.
    www.crappie-gills-n-more.com
    Podunk Ideas Pro Staff /test platform
    PICO Lures Field Rep
    Excel Boats Pro Staff

Cray is offline Crappie.com 2019 Man of Year, Supermod & Moderator of the Mechanics Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

14’s are best all around length for the average fisherman especially if you fish alone on a regular basis.
    Proud Member of Team Geezer
    Charlie Weaver USN/ENC 1965-1979

Likes crp4570, "G", Nutbush LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

I have 14"s,but wish I had 16's.When there deep I don't think it really matters,but shallow and the 16fters will make a difference

Sent from my SM-S907VL using Tapatalk