Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question--can hybrid crappies keep bluegill numbers down?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Question--can hybrid crappies keep bluegill numbers down?

Hello, newbie here.

My husband and I had a pond built on our farm about two years ago.
    it is a little bigger than a third of an acre and spring fed with depths of
    6-8 feet at the deepest part. We put in four areas of pallet structures.

We put in four pounds of minnows a few months before we stocked 25 bluegill and 30 hybrid crappie. Neither my husband or I are experienced
    fishermen, and we are retired so the pond is for pleasure and for fish to eat.
    We read that crappie were the best tasting and then bluegill. We didn't want any bass, as they might take over and read they don't taste as good as crappie and bluegills.

Since our pond is so small, we couldn't have regular crappie, so we went for the hybrid crappie, and were told by the Fishwagon people that the crappie would be adequate predators for the bluegills.

Our pond is two years old now, the original fish are about 18 months old, and we have TONS of baby and midsize bluegills along with the originals, so we are concerned that the crappie aren't eating enough of the bluegill babies. Should we buy more hybrid crappie in November, and if so, how many?

Have any of you successfully used hybrid crappie as predators?

Would it be worth it to just buy 4 or 5 bass as predators, and that small amount wouldn't take over the pond?

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

You need a LOT more bass. Otherwise, you're gonna end up with a million 3-inch bluegill and nothing else.

Also, your pond is way too small for crappie, IMO (even hybrids). I'd get some advice from your state fish and game department, drain the pond and start over.

Post Thanks / Like