Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Spider rigging setup? dropshot style? or egg sinkers above swivel?

Post Thanks / Like

Question Spider rigging setup? dropshot style? or egg sinkers above swivel?

I'm fairly new to spider rigging and have been rigging my rods like the others I fish with, or get advice from, which is a small crowd.

Anyway, it occurred to me that using a drop shot setup might be an effective spider rigging technique.

Currently I am using 3/8 or 1/2 oz slip sinkers on 6 lb test above a swivel depending upon the depth with a 2' 4 lb test leader to my jig.

Does it make a difference?

I could see the drop shot style maybe being more versatile if I wanted to jig a brushpile and then troll with the same setup?

There are literally centuries of experience on this forum, what say you?
    2017 Ranger RT188C Shadow Grass Camo
    Mercury 115 Pro XS
    Crappie Novice
    Likes rebranger LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

We put the weight on the bottom, move 8-12 inches and tie a loop knot with a #2 hook, move up another 12 inches and tie another loop knot with a #2 hook, hook shiners thru the lips and get after it at .2 - .6 mph., depending on how the fish like it that given day. Works for us.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Crappie.com Fishing mobile app
    I fish 7 days a week; some days for fish, everyday for men.

Post Thanks / Like

We just use 1/4 oz jigheads with Aberdeen hooks...works great and if you get hung up the Aberdeen will bend

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Crappie.com Fishing mobile app

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Northforker View Post
    I'm fairly new to spider rigging and have been rigging my rods like the others I fish with, or get advice from, which is a small crowd.

Anyway, it occurred to me that using a drop shot setup might be an effective spider rigging technique.