Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie knows nuthing..

Post Thanks / Like

Default Newbie knows nuthing..

Howdy from Louisiana... Got a few questions and hopefully get alot of answers and advice... Im new to crappie fishing, like brand new, never done.. So heres a few questions and please provide any tips or secrets.. Ive veen an Unsuccessful bass fisherman for about 3 years..lol.. So i know how not to bass fish.. Figured i woukd try my lucck and sone crappie...

1) anyone have an image of what crappie look like on sideinage and downimge.. How do you know its crappie and not gar,bass,catfish or aanything else..
    2) im not very patient, i like to cast and retrieve kinda guy. I hate sitting in one spot watching a bobber for an hour.. So what i gather is a road runner is the lure to go.. Anything else work? Ive caaught a few on crankbaits by mistake.. Are the snall crankbaits effective? And do tou fish them the sane as you would bass fishing?
    3) I seen where people veen saying to fish shallow in summer for big ones... How? I thought they were hiding on the bottom... Water temp is in the 90's here.. Dirty muddy nasty water..
    4) do crappie perfer still water or current or whats their idea of a good home...

Any help would be awesome.. Thanks
    Likes kfi LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

And one morre thing.. My typing sucks... My fingers are too big for this little phone screen.. So please excuse all my typos.. Lol
    Likes Nutbush LIKED above post

stormcloud is offline Crappie.com 2K Star General * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

Go with a good guide or a friend that is an accomplished fisherman now and then. Fill in on your own between those trips.
    If you really want to learn the sport, it will come to you. They can show you what not to do. Learning where not to fish is
    more important than learning where to fish.
    Tell'em I'll be there.