HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Nanofil hi-vis

Post Thanks / Like

Default Nanofil hi-vis

Hi guys & girls ! I have been using Hi- Vis Stren for many years . 2,4, & 6 lb. yellow. I want to try the Nanofil Hi-Vis yellow in 2lb. or 4lb. for casting small jigs. Before i purchase some, I would like some imput from you people that use it. Thanks, Don.

Post Thanks / Like

I can only tell you from my own experience. The #2 & #4 Nanofil is almost impossible to tie a knot into, without it failing. I spent the better part of the 2014/2015 season trying my best to use both 2# & 4# tests on several of my panfish rods. Can't tell you how many jigs I've lost due to knot failure. And I've been tying knots for over 50 years. I tried using fluorocarbon and monofilament leaders, using the Alberto knot and/or Uni-Uni knot. They all broke on a crappie hitting my jigs. Tried tying it direct with a Palomar & Trilene knot. They all broke on a crappie hitting my jigs. Sound repetitive?

I do hope you have a better experience with Nanofil than I have had, but I seriously doubt that you will. All my rigs are now filled with Fireline Crystal 2# test main lines with a 4# test fluorocarbon leader. Last season, none of my knots failed. I have great casting ability with this line and the sensitivity has to be felt to be appreciated. I use the fluoro leaders mainly for abrasion resistance and as a shock absorber. It works for me.
    "A voyage in search of knowledge need never abandon the spirit of adventure."

Post Thanks / Like