Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Will this rod work for trolling?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Will this rod work for trolling?

Name:  20170504_074248.jpg
Views: 390
Size:  25.0 KB

I have these rods laying around. Could they be used for trolling with cranks?

Cray is offline Crappie.com 2019 Man of Year, Supermod & Moderator of the Mechanics Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Tip probably a little stiff but they would work as long as you can get them spread out some.
    Proud Member of Team Geezer
    Charlie Weaver USN/ENC 1965-1979

Post Thanks / Like

I was wondering if the was to stiff. I used to use them for catfish but I have changed rods. These are just sitting in the shed and didnt know if they would work. I am new to this all.

Post Thanks / Like

Hello: Just try them and find out if they will work for you. They seem a little stiff but just test them out. If they don't work and you don't use them anymore you could sell them in the personal classifieds section here on C D C. Good Luck. O - R

Post Thanks / Like

The only problem I could see with them is the rod tip not being sensitive enough to detect possible debris or problems on the crank bait. I use the B'n'M PST rods for pulling cranks and can tell by the action of the rod tip if I pick up a single blade of grass, line twist, hook tangle etc. Believe it or not I notice this on several poles, several times every trip I pull cranks, so I can detect the issue reel it up fix the problem and let it back out. A crank bait that isn't running true or is caked up with algae, grass or debris is a crank bait that ain't fishin'

Post Thanks / Like

If they are too stiff to run straight to your crankbait like others have said (and I agree with what they have said) then slap planer boards on your line. They shud be dang fine planer board rods.
    Likes skeetbum LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by LowePro View Post