Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sickle hooks

Post Thanks / Like

Default Sickle hooks

Hey,
    I am new to using sickle hooks , usually use 1/32 and 1/16 jigs for casting tubes and bg for crappie. What size sickle hooks and color do y'all recommend and any suggestions on a supplier? Are they worth it?
    Thanks a lot!!!

Post Thanks / Like

I'm sure there are more experienced crappie fishermen here that can comment on their effectiveness. I've used most bends/kinds of hooks for crappie and other species of fish over the past half century. Have never noticed one being superior over another. JMO!
    "A voyage in search of knowledge need never abandon the spirit of adventure."

monkscrappie is offline Crappie.com 1K Star General * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

Jig heads with sickle hooks and extra light wire hooks are selling well. Many of my customers really like these hooks.

Monk

Post Thanks / Like

If you buy Matsu sickle hooks, make sure hey have barbs large enough to hold a crappie.

Post Thanks / Like

only thing i ever use now is red Matsu #2 sickle hooks on a 1/8 oz jig or a #4 on a 1/16 oz jig. hardly hooks em anywhere but the roof of the mouth and hardly ever lose a fish from it getting off.
    Retired golf addict
    Likes skeetbum LIKED above post

jackie53 is offline Crappie.com Legend * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by biskitboy View Post
    Hey,
    I am new to using sickle hooks , usually use 1/32 and 1/16 jigs for casting tubes and bg for crappie. What size sickle hooks and color do y'all recommend and any suggestions on a supplier? Are they worth it?
    Thanks a lot!!!