HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Depth finder/Brushpile question

Post Thanks / Like

Default Depth finder/Brushpile question

Do you guys always see fish on your depth finder when looking at brush piles? I am using high definition Humminbird and rarely see fish. For instance, this morning I bet I located fifteen brush piles and only saw what I thought were fish just one time. If you don't see fish do you still fish the brush? As a newbie I have a lot of learning to do. Thanks!!

CrappiePappy is online now Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I've only had one instance where my DI unit actually showed what was obviously "fish" around wood cover :

Name:  Screen002.jpg
Views: 4242
Size:  128.3 KB

Most of the rest of the times all I see are small white dots, that may or may not be fish.

But, to answer your question .... yes, I do fish the cover, just to be sure. I'm also going to make it a habit to mark a waypoint on newly discovered cover, so that I can come back to that spot later or on subsequent trips, and check it out ... which, unfortunately (for me) I did not do when taking the screenshot pictured above.
    Likes dannyr3_8, DaveB40, steve64116 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Great picture. Sorry, I meant I don't see the dots. I'm wondering if I don't have mine set right. Your looks great!

Post Thanks / Like

You are not giving us a lot of information to maybe help you, like what depth finder DI SI 2D. Pics would really help.

Post Thanks / Like

Sorry it is a Hunminbird 597ciHD.
    Thanks feeshrman thanked you for this post

Post Thanks / Like

Default Depth finder/Brushpile question

I found a couple of stumps last weekend with what I believe are fish. I caught 20 off this one area.

Lowrance Elite HDI 7

I have found trees and brush without these little "ticks" which I assume are fish so then I move on.

Likes dannyr3_8, volfan411, DaveB40 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like