PDA

View Full Version : Navionics Hotmaps on Lowrance Map Create?



SEMOmike
02-26-2007, 09:05 PM
for those of you guys that have a H2o and bough the Navionics hotmaps to go with it, how the heck do you get it to bring up the maps on Mapcreate?

Then it comes up with on the Lowrance site,

"WARNING: Do NOT install GDM6 on a PC that has any version of MapCreate™ 6 installed.

WARNING: If you install a version of MapCreate™ 6 on your PC after GDM6 has been installed, remove this installation of GDM6 before continuing with your installation of MapCreate™"

OK, a little help here. That's the version of Map Create that I have, and I would really like to be able to bring this up on my computer!

Drifty4
02-27-2007, 04:38 AM
As I understand it, GDM6 does the same job as Mapcreate 6 does only without the mapping features. So if you have Mapcreate installed you don't need GDM6 at all.

I don't use the Navionics chips, so can't answer how to view them on Mapcreate. It probably depends on the file type used by Navionics. If it is a file type that Mapcreate recognises, then you should be able to open it from the file menu.

SEMOmike
02-27-2007, 08:23 AM
No, mapcreate doesn't recognize it, Mapcreate tells you to download GDM from the Lowrance website and convert it, however the Lowrance website gives you the warning message.

What the ehll?

sentrysam
02-27-2007, 09:00 AM
I have an h2o and dont know how to use this sucker.Will it work any better with a chip?SS

SEMOmike
02-27-2007, 10:02 AM
Sam,

I like the chip I got alot, however I think I would purchase the Lowrance chip instead of the Navionics chip (I purchased the Navionics per the suggestion of a Cabelas prod. specialist). The reason being is that it would be compatible with the mapcreate and you wouldn't have to go through all of this bs to get it on your computer. However in the GPS itself, they are fantastic!!!