Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Split Shot/ No Float

Post Thanks / Like

Default Split Shot/ No Float

I just caught a crappie on a 1/32 marabou jig with 2 split shots (about 6 inches above the jig) and no float. Does anyone do this (i.e. fish with split shots above a jig and no float)? I took the float off and left the weight on because of the wind, and I am suprised how well it seemed to work.

Post Thanks / Like

That's the only way I fish now. I use 2 fairly large split shots with a hook or one split shot with a jig. I put them 4-8 inches above the bait but I do still use a slip Bobber stop just as a quick visual refrence to monitor depth. This is my first year doing this way and I will never use a bobber again spider rigging. Everyone around my parts that I know always used bobbers but I am so glad I tried it with out! It's much easier and in the wind there is no comparison.

Post Thanks / Like

I use a 1/64 ounce Trout Magnet with one size "B" split shot above the jig about 12-18 inches.....works great for me.

Regards

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Takeum is offline Crappie.com 3K Star General * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

We generally do this very same thing ng but troll around the lake at around .08 mph and catch tons of crappie,,, sometimes we lighten it up by using only 1 splits hot when fish are higher, 2 if around 15 ft or better
    Ranger boats
    Perotti pro holders
    Avery outdoors superstore

"D" is offline Super Moderator and 2023 Crappie.Com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

I do that when casting over brush.
    Team Overalls Travel Squad

FISH for LIFE

HUMANKIND......be both

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by "D" View Post
    I do that when casting over brush.
    What is your reason for this?

Post Thanks / Like