Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Some newbie questions...

Post Thanks / Like

Default Some newbie questions...

As I mentioned in an earlier thread, I am not a beginner fisherman, but I know nothing of crappie. I just bought a membership to my local conservation club, and was wanting to try bringing in some supper The weather here in Missouri has been BITTER for several weeks (highs in the teens and twenties, lows in single digits), with small amounts of snow. This week is supposed to improve considerably, with some sun and highs in the mid forties or so. The lake at the club is roughly 16 acres, and I am told there is a fair crappie population, so my wife and I decided we might try to snag a few this week. We will be limited to bank fishing, and will be fishing in the morning hours maybe nine o'clock or so. Can you gents give us a good starting point for tackle, techniques, etc? Any lure color advice, things to look for, and the like would be greatly appreciated, NRA

Post Thanks / Like

NRA, fishing from the bank limits you alot. The only way that i have been able to catch em off the bank is using a float(cork,bobber) with either a jig hanging under it, or with a buckshot weight about 4 inches above a crappie hook using live bait. Look around for some kind of structure in the water, old log on the bank running into the water, maybe an old stump or some limbs sticking up out the water, and sometimes around limbs hanging down into the water. If the lake doesn't have any of these maybe there is a grassline in the water. Try casting along or near any type of structure that may be present.