Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Summer Dock Shooting

Post Thanks / Like

Default Summer Dock Shooting

Hey guys Im new to the site and new to dock shooting, I fish on Lewis Smith Lake in northwest Alabama. It is roughly 21000 acres of deep gin clear water with a current water temp of 87 to 90 degrees. I started shooting docks this summer and am not catching anything. I've tried a slow steady retrieve after counting down to different depths. I've also tried shooting and letting it sink back to the boat with an occasional twitch but no luck. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Shooting docks looks like a blast when the fish bite. Will it get better this fall?

skeetbum is offline Crappie.com Legend - Moderator Jig Tying Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Welcome from Central Florida.

I lived in TN until August of last year and shot docks a lot on Weiss and other lakes in the Middle Tennessee. Most of the water I fished had some color and though clear, was not gin clear. I can say that not all docks will hold fish and there are some days that the technique is difficult at best. It's just another tool in the box. The best I can tell you is to just keep at it and you will figure it out on the water you fish. Shade is key and lack of activity helps even more. Deeper water and suspending fish make this a real challenge, making a countdown a must. When you finally do get the day when you boat fish after fish, it's a thrill like no other. I have seen fish over 2lbs caught this way, and had a guest get a 5 1/2 lb LMB on a 4lb setup and a Bobby Garland Body. Patience and time on the water will reward you one day.
    Creativity is just intelligence fooling around
    Likes wannabe fisherman, vic n LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

smiles are contagious, spread them around
    Proud Member of the ZIPPER Club
    & Team Geezer

Post Thanks / Like