Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Spincast crappie setup?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Spincast crappie setup?

Guys, I am an admitted spincast user. I have never learned anything else, I suppose because I never really felt like it handicapped my fishing. Having said that, I am new to fishing for crappie (never caught one). Can anyone recommend a good spincast setup to chase down slabs? My main rig is a Zebco Z03 on a medium action rod, but I am wondering if I need a ultralight type rod and reel...

Post Thanks / Like

I don't cast for crappie, but I do know those that do use all shorts of rigs from ultralight to medium action. The biggest thing would be what you prefer to use when casting a light jig say 1/16th ounce.
    Quit Wish'in and Let's Go Fish'in
    Darryl Morris

FAMILY FISHING TRIPS GUIDE SERVICE
    501-844-5418 --- [email protected]

papasage is offline Crappie.com 2011 Man of the Year & Moderator GA * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

it depends on how you plann on fishing . like Darryl said anything you are confortable with . i have alwayes used a zebco 33 all the time . for years . i do have some ultry light but they are closed face . i have some of all . just bought 8 crappie seeker reel`s. haven`t tried them yet . going to rig them for troling with a heavy sinker . i have enough reels that i don`t have to retie when i change types of fishing.the ultryl light i use for shooting docks with jigs .don`t do much jig fishing but will try some times when they wan`t bite minnows .
    retired and now i will always fish

Post Thanks / Like

We use a 9' pole with an abugarcia reel with 4# line and don't have a lot of problems with getting them where you want them
    MY Daughter My Sailor My Hero
    God bless Them All

Post Thanks / Like

I bought my brother a Zebco Omega for Christmas -- very nice, smooth reel.

Daiwa has several nice models, as does Abu Garcia.