Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Keep losing fish

Post Thanks / Like

Default Keep losing fish

In the grand scheme of things I'm still fairly new to tying panfish jigs and panfish fishing. Today I went 2/6. The 2 I got where a small sunfish and a half pound bass. The fish I lost all bit my jig and were on for about 2 seconds then I lost them. I was mostly fishing with a 1/32 ball head jig with a #6 matzuo sickle hook. I was using a 5'4" Fenwick Silverhawk UL mod. fast with 4lb fluorocarbon. From what they felt like all the fish I lost were fighting like 8-10 inchers. Both sunfish and perch.

I have a feeling it's my rod? Maybe my hook set? I just gave it a little "trout" hook set. Or maybe my drag was too high but I pretty sure I set it on the lower end.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Ryandr View Post
    Maybe my hook set? I just gave it a little "trout" hook set.
    You don't need much of a hookset with those little hooks. You certainly don't need to "cross their eyes" like the bass pros do.

Post Thanks / Like

Ryan,

It would be hard to pinpoint the exact issue without knowing a little bit of information first. Were you bank fishing? Boat fishing? Casting and retrieving or vertical jig fishing? Casting a float? What bait were you using? Live bait? Soft plastics?

The reason for the questions can help determine what might be done wrong (if anything at all). Take for instance one particular lake that I fish. I cast 1/16th oz jigs tipped with a twister tail. I catch a ton of crappies on this lake with this setup but also lose a fair number of fish as well. Mostly, the fish that I lose are small blue gills. They usually only get the twister tail in their mouths. You fight them for a few seconds and they are gone. Primarily because the hook never reaches their mouths. Eventually, they will tear the twister tail right off the bait.