PDA

View Full Version : Trolling crankbaits suggestions??



jahollis2
05-03-2016, 04:39 AM
Just wanting some suggestions, I have my boat set up to troll crankbaits (arkies 220) off the back of my boat. My question is this, I have some black widow poles (16 ft with eyes and a spinning reel) can I use those then two 12 ft poles and then some 8ft? Would those BW poles be stout enough or should I just use my 12 crappie fighter poles and just adjust the angle of the inside poles??? Next question, most of my fish I'll be targeting will be 10 ft or less, if I need to add weight to those arkie 220's to get them to 10 ft, how much weight do I add??? 1/4 oz?? 1/8oz?? Thanks guys!

"G"
05-03-2016, 05:04 AM
Get some Arkie 350s and you will not need a weight. But you can pull the 220s with a 1/2 oz weight three ft. Ahead of them and they will run about the same depth as a 350. Pull at 1.6 to 1.8 mph and use the 350s depth chart. 237654

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2

jahollis2
05-03-2016, 05:34 AM
Ok. Well I got the 220's because of the price difference and I also push them sometimes. Thank you for the info on the weight.

"G"
05-03-2016, 05:40 AM
I push the 350s too.....bigger bait.....bigger hooks.....better hookset. But I have 220s too..... I usually use them pushing in shallow water.
Best price on 350s is at GrizzlyJig.......Grizzly Jig Company (http://www.grizzlyjig.com)
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2

"G"
05-03-2016, 05:46 AM
Here is a pushing chart for ya 237656

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2

jahollis2
05-03-2016, 06:03 AM
Thanks for the information "G". Will those black widow poles handle pulling them??? At least for a short time??

"G"
05-03-2016, 06:08 AM
Dont know......you will just have to try and see. I use BnM PST's to push and pull crankbaits.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2

cnette01
05-04-2016, 01:41 PM
Arkie has a chart on their web site for the 220 series for both pushing and pulling the crank baits.

CrappiePappy
05-04-2016, 03:59 PM
Thanks for the information "G". Will those black widow poles handle pulling them??? At least for a short time??

How would you rig a Black Widow (basically a cane pole) to troll cranks ?? :scratchhead

If you are actually talking about a telescopic pole (with guides) that you can put a reel on ... yeah, they'll work !! I've used 12' telescopic poles of a buddy of mine, pulling 2oz weight & 300 Bandits, and they worked just fine.

jahollis2
05-05-2016, 08:37 AM
Yes it's the poles with the guides and reel seat on them. I got them for spider rigging due to limited room for long poles in my boat. I've actually noticed an increase in the fish bites. I've put a two ounce weight on them in the yard but that tip was stressed! Lol.

CrappiePappy
05-05-2016, 08:45 AM
Yes it's the poles with the guides and reel seat on them. I got them for spider rigging due to limited room for long poles in my boat. I've actually noticed an increase in the fish bites. I've put a two ounce weight on them in the yard but that tip was stressed! Lol.

Yeah, I know what you mean !! These rods had line counter reels on them & 30lb test braid, then a 5ft leader of 6lb mono between the 2oz weight & Bandit. They bowed over pretty good BEFORE having a fish on, but still brought the fish in ... and I didn't net any of them, either, just swung them in the boat. Now ... they weren't 2lb fish, or anywhere close, just 9-11" keepers ... so if you're subject to catching bigguns, I'd be sure and have a long handled net handy !! :biggrin

jahollis2
05-05-2016, 09:24 PM
Ok, well I'm gonna try the 16 ft BW poles, the 12 ft poles then some 8 fts to start off with. Im trying to ease into trolling crankbaits to see if I like it before investing even more into fishing! lol

cnette01
05-06-2016, 07:36 AM
I never use weights when trolling crank baits. I control the depth by how much line I let out. I have reeled in crappie from 90 feet behind the boat before. I do have a couple of 10 foot crappie rods that I use with planer boards to help prevent tangles on turns, but my other rods are 6.5 feet or shorter. I don't spider rig, I just have 6 rod holders spread out on my boat. I usually use the 2 10 footer crappie rods up front, then 6.5 foot Pflueger spinning combos, and a couple of light spinning combos straight out the back of the boat. I started out trolling for hybrids and stripers before I took up trolling for crappie, so my set up for trolling is a little different that most other crappie fishermen.

BAMA S
05-06-2016, 07:44 AM
What is app for iPhone. That tells you bandit depths

theygotaeat
05-06-2016, 09:40 AM
237999

CrappiePappy
05-06-2016, 10:16 AM
237999

At what speed ??

theygotaeat
05-06-2016, 10:26 AM
10 lb diameter line... the fish will let you know what speed they want it at . I've run as slow as 1.2 and up 2.5 mph

theygotaeat
05-06-2016, 10:29 AM
Make a lot of "S" turns and take note of what side gets the bites. Then adjust speed accordingly

jahollis2
05-07-2016, 08:12 PM
Well I tried it. Caught 17 on a variety of colors. It was alot of fun. Lol. Those BW poles held up pretty good. I just cast them out and let out some more slack. I was fishing them on 6lb test. Not real sure how deep they was running but I know the fish was in between 9-12 ft deep. Thanks for the help guys!

nccater
02-01-2017, 10:10 AM
10 lb diameter line... the fish will let you know what speed they want it at . I've run as slow as 1.2 and up 2.5 mph

So if I were to use Power Pro braid, then I'd need to use 40 lb line (which is 10 lb diameter)?

theygotaeat
02-01-2017, 07:08 PM
So if I were to use Power Pro braid, then I'd need to use 40 lb line (which is 10 lb diameter)?
For sure 40 would work ... I have ran 50lb test braid at times and for the last 2 years I've been running power pro 30 lb test depth hunter. The lakes that I fish are fairly clean bottom

nccater
02-02-2017, 11:43 AM
For sure 40 would work ... I have ran 50lb test braid at times and for the last 2 years I've been running power pro 30 lb test depth hunter. The lakes that I fish are fairly clean bottom
Do you use a leader with that setup?

theygotaeat
02-02-2017, 06:30 PM
Do you use a leader with that setup?
No leader just a cross lock clip or swivel for easy bait changes

Pantastic
02-02-2017, 07:10 PM
I think you need to start fishing with planer boards to increase your catch. On 6lb vicious line.
That will be the ticket in as matter of a few weeks.

tinman54
02-07-2017, 01:14 PM
I think you need to start fishing with planer boards to increase your catch. On 6lb vicious line.
That will be the ticket in as matter of a few weeks.


Sent you a PM