PDA

View Full Version : Sickle hooks are so sharp, BUT....

mb4850
04-19-2016, 05:14 AM
On our annual trip to Grenada I changed all my rigs to sickle hooks and also my brother used them exclusively. We fished for 9 days straight and came to the conclusion that we missed more fish than we ever have after 22 years of fishing. I missed a lot of fish at the net and the ones I landed would fall off the hooks in my kayak. I didn't piece it all together until a few days ago. I had missed some more fish and was trolling along so being an engineer I pulled out one of my hooks and began studying it. I noticed the large curve on the tip of the hook and determined in my mind that as you set the hook the point doesn't sink into the flesh but pulls out. Has anyone else come to this conclusion or is it just me? I would love to hear your opinion.

"G"
04-19-2016, 05:41 AM
I fish Grenada and all the rest of the big four.....been using sickle hooks for a few years now and they have improved my catch rate.....all fish are hooked solid in roof of mouth now instead of lips. You might be using too small of a hook. We use size 1 and 1/0.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2

INTIMIDATOR
04-19-2016, 05:49 AM
Been using sickle seemingly forever!:)
I mainly use 1/0 sickle jig heads with swimbaits for Crappie and have zero problems. The jigs I buy have a nice barb also....My line choice is braid, and with the no stretch line and the sickles being so sharp, you don't need a hook-set...if you are Power setting the hook, you're just pulling the hook out. A sickle works more like a circle hook, with the cam design and light wire, it helps to rotate the jig, so they always hook in the upper part of the mouth...all you need is a flick of the wrist or pressure to set a sickle! IMHO

wharfrat
04-19-2016, 06:37 AM
theysaid Sickle Hook fan!

Erin Brewer
04-19-2016, 07:43 AM