Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Barometric pressure / solar / lunar

Post Thanks / Like

Default Barometric pressure / solar / lunar

Those of you that have fished a long time and have watched the variables, have you found any correlation to barometric pressure, solar or lunar tables and the crappie bite? Has anyone ever figured out why fish bite, lol? The fish bit last couple of days, and now we have a rising barometer. Wondering what it will do to them. It will be kind of flat tomorrow and next day and then start falling ahead of a front. Generally, just ahead of a front is supposed to be good for bass.

I've never placed much faith in any kind of enhanced fish bite prediction but I'm certainly curious. On the other hand, predicting when they will NOT bite, that does seem to have some merit. Such as after a front. But I am no fish expert. Generally, if a front has not just come through, I will just go when I can and hope.
    ~~~
    Bill

Etowah, Tn. foothills to the Smokey Mountains
    Post Thanks / Like

I'm a big believer in the solar tables, more on game than fish but I'm sure barometric has some bearing as well just not paid attention to it. I watch water rising and falling more than anything on our area reservoirs. It is key on our TVA lakes to the bite.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by tenncrappie View Post
    ...I watch water rising and falling more than anything on our area reservoirs. It is key on our TVA lakes to the bite.
    And what is the key, lol? I've heard a tip about rising/falling but don't recall which way it goes, lol.
    ~~~
    Bill

Post Thanks / Like

I fish whenever I can. If I waited for "ideal" conditions, I'd never fish.

Post Thanks / Like