Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Spin Cast Reel: Handle On Right Or Left ?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Spin Cast Reel: Handle On Right Or Left ?

Hello,

I have never used a Spincast type of reel before, but will probably be getting one for
    my Grandson (5-1/2) for his first outfit.

Question: do most folks retrieve with the handle on the left or right side ?

They all seem to come pre-set from the factory with the handle on the right.

But, for me at least, I would think that a left hand retrieve, and holding the rod in right would be the most comfortable ?
    (I'm right handed)

Any thoughts on ?

Bob
    Likes crappielimits LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Start him out with left hand retrieve and if he doesn't like change handle to other side as about all are made to switch from right or left retrieve. I prefer cranking with left hand.

keeferfish is offline Crappie.com Legend * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Everything on the right for me but anytime someone else picks up one of my spin cast reels they all say it’s backwards? All my baitcasters are on the right???
    Likes Cardsfan55, barrelslime LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Robert11 View Post
    Hello,

I have never used a Spincast type of reel before, but will probably be getting one for
    my Grandson (5-1/2) for his first outfit.

Question: do most folks retrieve with the handle on the left or right side ?

They all seem to come pre-set from the factory with the handle on the right.

But, for me at least, I would think that a left hand retrieve, and holding the rod in right would be the most comfortable ?
    (I'm right handed)

Any thoughts on ?
    My thought would be to give him a cane pole or telescopic BnM pole. At that age, I think a reel unnecessarily complicates things. Keep it simple. Most of the cheap spincast reels are garbage, anyway.
    Likes Alphahawk LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like