Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Winter Crappie Tips?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Winter Crappie Tips?

I have been fishing crappie for about 6 years, but i have done terrible in the winter months when the Crappie are deep in open water.

Just wanted to see if anybody had any advice or tips?

Thanks in advance! JD

Post Thanks / Like

I've been shut out this winter with all the high muddy water
    Every day is a holiday and every meal is a picnic.
    Likes mijsivad, NIMROD LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Slow down or even dead stick. I use minnows in the winter to make them stay at it because it is often a very soft bite. Lots of time I just see the line jump or move sideways. I catch them on jigs, and fish jigs only spring, summer, and fall, but like that little extra help during winter. Be a line watcher!
    Likes Tony the Tiger, mijsivad LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Well there can be no doubt they will be deep. At least in the rivers I fish they will be near a steep drop off of some kind, with access to shallow water. Also, against what I always thought, plain straight body jigs seem to do better then bait or curly tails. There are days like this past sunday when they were ready to chase a jig but many times they want the jig sitting totally still, just hanging with a couple of hops here and there. I fish all winter in Maryland and have seen more times than not that minnows are out fished by artificials almost always. Whenever a boat slows to ask how I'm doing Im never surprised when their " we got nuthin" reply is followed by " we are using minnows".

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by ET Fish View Post